P1LOT's never ending PC upgrade process

Something is not working? Need some help?

P1LOT's never ending PC upgrade process

Postby P1LOT » 05. Sep. 2015, 23:22

I'm always on the lookout for cheap improvements to my rig.
(Read as "Hi, my names P1LOT and I'm addicted to eBay, Gumtree and CeX")

Recently upgraded to 8GB 1600MHz Crucual RAM, and spent the last few days configuring a fresh Win7 install on a 120GB SSD.
I've kept the old OS on the 500GB HDD and found there are many programs that I don't need to reinstall again, including Steam. I just create a shortcut to the HDD location to add to Start Menu etc. I intend to keep most programs and documents off the SSD anyway.
SSD certainly helps with boot up time. I had a hybrid drive a few years ago, but that died shortly after warranty expired.

There's so many little settings that I need to change, they have to be a certain way and I had forgotton how to do them. e.g. configure mouse buttons, display window on G15 keyboard,

The rest of the specs.
Asrock Z77 Pro4 motherboard
i3 CPU (thanks Fordy)
XFX Radeon HD 5770, 1GB
550W 80+ PSU
24" + 19" monitors
T7R|P1LOT - Triple7Racing
(Gavin Burton #30)
User avatar
P1LOT
 
Posts: 433
Joined: 09. Mar. 2014, 18:29
Location: Teesside, UK

Re: P1LOT's never ending PC upgrade process

Postby Fordman » 06. Sep. 2015, 10:32

Nice Gav, just in time for our opening race next week :D
Fordman
 

Re: P1LOT's never ending PC upgrade process

Postby BBO » 07. Sep. 2015, 22:05

I do it the same way like you P1LOT,

The OS on the SSD but including office and grafix software and tools
and the rest Data and Games on HDDs (especially Steam :) )

For the many little settings like you said.
I also often forgot something or couldn't really remember how I did that or when I needed something I noticed that it's still not installed.

So not just because I'm lazy, I started to make myself a plan/ a list for each PC, HTPC, Clients etc.

1. Install this
2. Install that
3. Updates
4. Drivers for this
5. Browser X (add plugin y and set this to that)
6. Keyboard software ( turn that on )
7. Software Z (needs this, xy has to be turned on, cache folder has to be set to HDD F:)
etc. etc.

First it's more work but you wont believe how much time I save now when doing a complete fresh install
especialy because I'm not installing everything new, like some people, twice or more a year.
I just don't have to think about anything, I just work down the list and done.
T7R| BBO - Triple7Racing
(Bernd Weingart #21)
..............................
Watch your mirror ;-)
User avatar
BBO
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1661
Joined: 16. Feb. 2014, 15:03
Location: Germany

Re: P1LOT's never ending PC upgrade process

Postby P1LOT » 20. Oct. 2015, 12:57

Triple monitor setups look so great for simracing. I’m having a go at one, but on a budget of course. :lol:
I’ve already got a 24” HD monitor and a 19” 5:4 to the side, another 19” on the other side would be much cheaper than buying another two 24” monitors. These are very similar in screen height to each other.
I found two matching 19” monitors on eBay for £9.27, and local collection.

I had an idea that my graphics card could feed two of the monitors while the on-board graphics be linked to power the third monitor. I’d read about that feature in the BIOS setup, or on the net somewhere, but couldn’t get that working.

It turns out my Radeon HD 5770 can feed three monitors if one is from the Displayport socket. My monitors all need DVI, so I bought a Displayport to DVI adaptor. That one didn’t work, sent it back and got another that works with AMD Eyefinity for £22. I now have triple monitor desktop for separate applications. 8-)

Now the hard part. Linking them together as a virtual single screen with Eyefinity. So far I’ve only managed to arrange them with the same resolution across all three, this means the view is stretched for the centre widescreen monitor. Not pretty. Three identical monitors is the way to go if you can afford it. Also the resolution is only 720 pixels high, quite blurry. I read that from Catalyst drivers 14.6 onwards, mixed resolutions are possible. I’ve got 15.7 but can’t find the option for mixed.

Does this sound like I need a better graphics card?
Or revert to older drivers?

A quick test in AC with low/stretched resolution is enough to appreciate the more immersive experience it gives.
Attachments
IMAG0560a.jpg
T7R|P1LOT - Triple7Racing
(Gavin Burton #30)
User avatar
P1LOT
 
Posts: 433
Joined: 09. Mar. 2014, 18:29
Location: Teesside, UK

Re: P1LOT's never ending PC upgrade process

Postby Festa_PWR » 20. Oct. 2015, 13:55

I have had some teething problems with Eyefinity in the past and it can be a ballache to setup, especially for the first time.

I can`t remember off the top of my head how to do it, but it was through the catalyst control centre (CCC) that AMD so enjoy pumping out with every driver install.

EDIT: Hope these helps some. I think i captured all the bits you need to adjust, or at least give you a start. There was also some messing about in the windows resolution settings once the eyefinity group was created, to get them all doing the right thing. Note that i have a fourth monitor powered by a seperate card sat on top of my triples, so you won`t need that.
AMD1.jpg

AMD2.jpg

AMD3.JPG
T7R|Festa_PWR - Triple7Racing
(Kris Vickers #47)
User avatar
Festa_PWR
 
Posts: 781
Joined: 01. Aug. 2015, 23:06
Location: North West

Re: P1LOT's never ending PC upgrade process

Postby P1LOT » 21. Oct. 2015, 12:27

I was using Catalyst Control Center to set it up.
But you see your screenshot 'Creat Eyefinity Display Group'? I don't have the green options for 'mixed dimension'. What version of CCC are you using?

In contrast, triple monitors in LFS is e-a-s-y !
Change to window mode and stretch across all the monitors. Tell LFS how many monitors to the left and right, and their pixel widths and angle. Set FOV and bezel, job done.
But then LFS has the user interface spot on, you can change any graphic settings while on track to see immediate effect. AC needs to take note.
Attachments
DSCF8661a.jpg
T7R|P1LOT - Triple7Racing
(Gavin Burton #30)
User avatar
P1LOT
 
Posts: 433
Joined: 09. Mar. 2014, 18:29
Location: Teesside, UK

Re: P1LOT's never ending PC upgrade process

Postby BBO » 21. Oct. 2015, 17:48

if iirc only R7 to R9 series graphics cards support mixed resolutions.
but I'm not sure if it was like that.
T7R| BBO - Triple7Racing
(Bernd Weingart #21)
..............................
Watch your mirror ;-)
User avatar
BBO
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1661
Joined: 16. Feb. 2014, 15:03
Location: Germany

Re: P1LOT's never ending PC upgrade process

Postby P1LOT » 21. Oct. 2015, 22:09

That would explain it, thanks.
Now I know what I want for Christmas ;)
T7R|P1LOT - Triple7Racing
(Gavin Burton #30)
User avatar
P1LOT
 
Posts: 433
Joined: 09. Mar. 2014, 18:29
Location: Teesside, UK

Re: P1LOT's never ending PC upgrade process

Postby Festa_PWR » 21. Oct. 2015, 22:30

Sorry yeah, I didn`t see what card you had until now.

I have the 7870.
T7R|Festa_PWR - Triple7Racing
(Kris Vickers #47)
User avatar
Festa_PWR
 
Posts: 781
Joined: 01. Aug. 2015, 23:06
Location: North West

Re: P1LOT's never ending PC upgrade process

Postby P1LOT » 16. Nov. 2015, 00:01

I can't stop getting gadgets when they're going cheap secondhand!
£20
...and I've got to live up to my online name
Attachments
IMAG0617a.jpg
T7R|P1LOT - Triple7Racing
(Gavin Burton #30)
User avatar
P1LOT
 
Posts: 433
Joined: 09. Mar. 2014, 18:29
Location: Teesside, UK

Next

Return to Guides & Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

© Copyright - Triple7Racing
cron